Nominations & Awards

Nominations Open for the 2020 Professional Achievement Award

The annual Professional Achievement Award honors a fundraising professional who exemplifies the highest standards of the profession, shows personal integrity, and whose work has made a clear difference in philanthropic missions across our community.

Click here to submit your nomination . If you nominated someone last year whom you still think worthy, please contact the Advancement Northwest office to renew your nomination.

The deadline for nominations is Friday, March 31 at 5 pm.


Started by the Northwest Development Officers Association in 1985, the Professional Achievement Award continues to be the pinnacle of achievement for fundraising professionals in the Pacific Northwest.

Past Winners

2019      Carol Borgmann, CFRE, Lakeside School

2018       Ray Li, University of Washington

2017       Lee Heck, University of Washington

2016       Janet Aldrich Jacobs, CFRE, CAP, Make-A-Wish Alaska and Washington

2015       Mary Kaufman-Cranney, The Nature Conservancy in Washington

2014       Thomas W. Mesaros, CFRE, formerly of The Alford Group

2013       Lynn Hogan, UW Medicine

2012       Jane Ewing, Cornish College of the Arts

2011       Robert W. Davidson, Seattle Aquarium

2010       Susie Burdick, formerly of Hearing, Speech & Deafness Center

2009       Sonya Campion, The Campion Foundation

2008       Terry Collings, Seattle Public Library Foundation

2007       Laura Rehrmann, Group Health Community Foundation

2006       Janet Boguch, Non-Profit Works

2005       Michele Hasson

2004       Stuart Grover, PhD, The Collins Group

2003       Barry McConnell, Make-A-Wish Foundation

2002       Lynn Schrader, CFRE

2001       Susan Howlett, Consultant

2000       Jacquelyn B. Ostrom, Third Sector Consulting

1999       Mary Ann Ranta, Children’s Hospital Foundation

1998       Rodney Wheeler, United Way of King County

1997       Ed Larson, Pacific Lutheran University

1996       Rita Ryder, YWCA Seattle-King County

1995       Jane Carlson Williams, The Seattle Foundation

1994       Marlys Erickson, Market Foundation

1993       Arthur Jacobus, Pacific Northwest Ballet

1992       Marilyn Dunn, University of Washington

1991       Edward C. Schumacher, Salmon Bay Associates

1990       Doug Picha, Children’s Hospital Foundation

1989       Anne Farrell, The Seattle Foundation

1988       Dale Bailey, Independent Colleges of Washington

1987       Shirley Bushnell, University of Puget Sound

1986       Pat Lewis, Camp Fire

1985       Frank Minton, University of Washington


Awardees are listed with affiliations at the time of each award was given.