Advancement Northwest awards member scholarships each year to build a thriving community of leaders who fundraise and fundraisers who lead.

Our 2022 scholars are Aisha Al-Amin, Karina Arroyo, Troy Carr, Erika Chen, Saulyman Corr, Linn Wu Engel, Andrea Garcia Brown, Scott Jackson, Andrew Kambwiri, Mercedes Luna, Maddy MacKenzie, Mahrukh Motafram, Jessyca Murphy, Mackenzie Murphy, and Elizabeth Page.

Thank you to our Advancement NW members and volunteers. Your commitment and volunteer efforts help fund these scholarships. Thanks also to AFP Global, which also contributes to our scholarship awards.

Our scholars receive:

  • one-year introductory membership to AFP Advancement Northwest
  • option to be paired with a fundraiser mentor for one year
  • admission to the 2022 Annual Conference and National Philanthropy Day
  • opportunity to apply for the Washington State Chamberlain Scholarship, which allows one scholar per year to attend next year’s AFP Global Fundraising Conference at little or no cost
  • opportunity to attend four monthly education programs, which can include either Coffee & Conversations or regularly scheduled professional development offerings

Scholars also benefit from access to:

  • an extensive network of professional fundraisers and nonprofit leaders, dedicated to the improvement of our sector and community.
  • a cohort of peers and an alumni network of past scholarship recipients.

Advancement NW’s scholarship program focuses on resourcing communities that are historically marginalized and underrepresented in the field of fundraising. This includes people of color; members of the LBGTQ+ community, with a focus on transgender and gender diverse people; religious minorities; people living with disabilities; and fundraisers for small shops and rural organizations.